

Strasbourg, 4 October 2017

To: Mr Vladimir Putin, President of the Russian Federation

Mr Dmitry Medvedev, Prime Minister of the Russian Federation

Mr Vladimir Medinsky, Minister of Culture of the Russian Federation

We, Members of the European Parliament, are writing to you in order to express our strong protest regarding the arrest of and the charges put against Kirill Serebrennikov, a prominent Russian theatre and film director, the artistic director of the Gogol Centre, a progressive and liberal minded theatre of Moscow.

We wish to join our voices to the appeals of dozens of leading figures in Russia's cultural world, the petitions and open calls of such bodies as the European Film Academy as well as the protests of hundreds and thousands of ordinary theatregoers Muscovites.

We all concur with the view that the accusations against Kirill Serebrennikov and his on-going trial is a politically motivated act, which aims to silence an artist whose views and productions openly criticised a lot of what is going on in Russia of today.

We deeply regret to learn that despite the fact that he cooperated fully with the investigation, the court ruling was such that Kirill Serebrennikov will stay under house arrest until 19 October, he is allowed to see only the closest family members, does not have an access to internet and has to wear an ankle tag all the time. Above all, it is the most shocking for us to hear that Kirill Serebrennikov now faces up to 10 years in prison.

With this letter, we are calling yet again upon the government of the Russian Federation to immediately release Kirill Serebrennikov and drop all the charges against him.

Finally, we sincerely wish to encourage the Russian authorities to learn from grave lessons of the past and refrain from all forms of intimidation against open mind and independent opinion. This is the only

way of building a viable and progressive society in Russia, as much as in any part of the world, but not the repressions and fear.

Yours respectfully,

Petras Auštrevičius Mark Demesmaeker Julie Ward

Cristian Dan Preda Ramon Tremosa i Balcells Rebecca Harms

Elmar Brok Pavel Svoboda Antanas Guoga

Indrek Tarand Dietmar Köster María Teresa Giménez Barbat

Jasenko Selimovič Benedek Jávor José Inácio Faria

Norica Nicolai Bodil Valero Sandra Kalniete

Jaromír Štětina Tunne Kelam Ramona Nicole Mănescu

Ana Gomes Ivan Štefanec Ilhan Kyuchyuk

Brando Benifei David Martin Nessa Childers

Margrete Auken Nathalie Griesbeck Michaela Šojdrová

Helga Trüpel Hans-Olaf Henkel Miroslav Poche

Milan Zver Bronis Ropė

Zigmantas Balčytis Bogdan Wenta Soraya Post

Pavel Svoboda Svetoslav Hristov Malinov Krišjānis Kariņš

Marietje Schaake Sophie in 't Veld Jan Gerben Gerbrandy

Matthijs van Miltenburg Jasenko Selimović John Howarth

Jean-Marie Cavada Tomáš Zdechovský Renate Weber

Dariusz Rosati Monica Macovei Urmas Paet

Dennis Radtke Gunnar Hökmark Jytte Guteland

Olle Ludvigsson Marita Ulvskog